Primetime Inspirations

Romans 12 1-2 (message):

So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.

I’m looking forward to wearing the Olivia Pope inspired line found in my all time favorite store since high school, The Limited. I even worked there in college. However, they could have ended the show for good with Harrison’s funeral. The fast talking and the high crime rate among the Congressman and other civil servants has worn me out. I watched How To Get Away With Murder. I don’t know how well received my comments would be on that. I like the legal aspect of the show. I like Viola as an actor. I’ll stop right there. Anyone seen Blackish? Laurence Fishburne has a good show. Let’s see how long it lasts, though. A black family that doesn’t shuck and jive or has severe social issue doesn’t get much play unless you have long Bill Cosby money and can finance your own show. God bless him. He can say what he wants. Only hit dogs holler as they say. Oh and God bless the folks responsible for Lincoln Heights. They snatched that off air also. If you missed it, it’s on Netflix. Shonda Rhimes, make your money girl, just don’t let it make you. Hollywood – I’m suddenly remembering a few rap songs from back in the day by Ice Cube, NWA, Roots, and De La Soul. Talented men who possess a vocabulary that are conscious. So despised today. Ignorance, lack of self-control, materialism, sex, money, self-indulgence, confusion about love, soulless, and emptiness is pretty much what I see and hear today. The evidence can be found in the world today pretty much wherever eyes and ears take you. Look at how people conform to the ‘entertainment’ on television and act it out in real life.

I’m not religious. I can handle a little entertainment however, the more I learn about and accept God’s grace, the less I care to expose myself to certain themes and images. It’s not because I’m so Holy, it’s because I don’t have to and it’s not necessary. It starts to bore you. The repetition of madness paraded on television, but that’s another blog for another moment of inspiration.

Good day

Leave a comment